District 9-5-A MVP


Nazaret Aguilar, Journalist

The 9-5A-I champion Ball High Tors dominated the postseason all-district football awards just as they dominated district play this year. Sophomore Jonah Williams was named the district’s most valuable player. A safety, kick returner and occasional receiver, Williams made his mark on all sides of the football for the 2022 Tors.

Sophomore defensive lineman Malcolm Simpson earned Newcomer of the Year while senior running back Aiven Coleman earned Offensive Player of the Year and junior linebacker Stephanos Pothos was named Defensive Player of the Year.

Ball High All-District first team honors on offense were Coleman, senior QB Seth Williams, junior RB Justis Thomas, junior WR Will Cianfrini, senior offensive lineman Charles Gundrum, sophomore offensive lineman Corey Sanders and senior placekicker Ramon Carrillo.

On defense, first team honors went to Pothos, Jonah Williams, senior DB/OLB Aiden McNamara, junior LB Chance Bailey and senior DB Kairan Thorne.

Second team recipients for the Tors were sophomore WR Arentheis Winn, sophomore LB Saiaki Jones, junior LB Braylin Caldwell, junior DB Ashton Sonnier and senior DB Will Leach.

Completing Ball High’s all-district awards were honorable mentions for junior offensive lineman Hunter Haglund, junior offensive lineman Gunner Chase, sophomore offensive lineman Tommy Fields, junior LB Jason Degrasse and junior DB Sirchristian Jones.